North African Countries – The 7 Countries of North Africa

Egypt - The seven countries of North Africa


Algeria - The seven countries of North Africa

Covering an area of 2,381,741 sq. km, Algeria happens to be the largest country in Africa. Most of this land space is covered in sand. Despite this, Algeria is inhabited by a population of over 40 million inhabitants with the majority being of Arab-Berber ethnicity.

The economy is largely built around hydrocarbons with Algeria having the second largest oil reserves in Africa.  Algerian also has the l largest defense budget in Africa. The government is working to diversify Algeria’s economy in order to protect the country if there is a drop in oil revenue.

What to Read Next: Facts about Algeria


Egypt - The seven countries of North Africa

One country, two continents. That country is the Arab Republic of Egypt.  It occupies 1,010,407.87 km2 of land area that spans North Africa and Southeast Asia. Its 92 million inhabitants, majority observing the religion of Isla, make Egypt the most populous country in North Africa and the Arab World.

Like Algeria, desert covers most of Egypt. Despite this, Egypt has a thriving economy centered around its agriculture, media, natural gas, and tourism sectors.


Egypt - The seven countries of North Africa

The North African nation of Libya covers 1,759,541 km2 of land area. Ninety percent of this land area is covered in the Libyan Desert. Despite its size, Libya has a small population relative to other African nations. The 2013 estimate showed that 6,411,776 persons lived in Libya.

The economy of Libya is largely dependent on the oil industry. Revenues from oil make up 80% of the country’s GDP and 90% of its export revenue. It is also classified as an Upper Middle Income country by the World Bank and it has the largest reserves of oil in Africa.

What to read next: Facts about Libya


Morocco - The seven countries of North Africa

The Kingdom of Morocco is a nation located in North Africa. Morocco occupies 710,850 km2 of land area characterized by desert and mountains. Morocco is the only African country that has its long coastline washed by both the Mediterranean Sea and the Atlantic Ocean.

The type of government that exists in Morocco is a constitutional monarchy. The King rules over a population of over 33 million citizens. The country has a very diverse economy with its largest earner of foreign exchange being its phosphate industry.

Another Must Read: Facts about Morocco


Sudan - The seven countries of North Africa

The Republic of Sudan is almost known as North Sudan since its split from South Sudan in 2011. Occupying 1,886,068 km2 of land space, it is the third largest country in Africa and the Arab world. Sudan has an estimated population of over 30 million people who speak over 400 different languages and dialects.

Its large population has to adhere to the laws set out by the Islamic Sharia law. Its economy is largely dependent on the oil production. Despite having one of the fastest growing economies in the world, a fifth of the population lives below the poverty line.


Tunisia- The seven countries of East Africa

The Mediterranean Sea borders the nation of Tunisia on its east and north side by the Mediterranean Sea. It has the northernmost tip in Africa, Cape Angela. Its population of over 10 million inhabitants inhabits a land area that covers 163,610 km2.

Tunisians government consists of a president who is head of state and a Prime Minister who is head of government. Tunisians have a diverse economy which continues to enjoy growth in the current economic climate. The largest sector is the services industry which contributes 62% of the GDP.

You might like: Must See Places When Visiting Tunisia

 Western Sahara

Western Sahara - The seven countries of North Africa

Western Sahara is just a small territory in North Africa covered mostly in desert. It has an estimate of 500,000 inhabitants. People living in the Western Sahara are known as Sahrawis, “Southerners” or “Southern Berber. The two dominant economic sectors in the territory are fishing and phosphate mining.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Leave a Comment!